ZPacks Pocket Tarp – first pitch.


It stopped raining today so I jumped at the chance to practice pitching the tarp in the back garden and I have to say I was impressed. 

It’s very easy to get a good, taut pitch straight away if the supplied instructions are followed. My first attempt took about three minutes but after a couple of further goes I managed to get the tarp pitched in just under two minutes. There was very little wind which I believe made life easier but, even so, I’m in no doubt that I could get a decent pitch out in the wild equally quickly. Once erected the tarp felt very stable and much stronger than you’d believe looking at the material. There’s plenty of room for me at 5′ 10″ to lie down and be completely under cover. A pack and shoes/boots could also be kept out of the rain. Headroom in the centre is good at roughly 48 inches. The beak at the front provides more shelter from any rain coming from the back so it’s easily possible to sit up, cook and eat while being sheltered.

The tarp does sit with the sides off the ground by about 6 inches when pitched normally so it might be a bit draughty but I can’t see rain being a problem because of the angles of the sides and back. If it was getting windy I’d drop the height of the hiking pole and get the sides to the ground.
One thing that I did notice is that after about ten minutes of being pitched the tarp seems to relax and wasn’t as taught. Not enough to flap but noticeably looser. Puzzling as I thought Cuben fibre didn’t stretch. It could be because the ground was soft so the hiking pole sank in a bit, the stakes moved a little, the knots on the guy lines tightened or any combination of the three. Easy to sort out though by raising the hiking pole a tiny bit.  Pleasing that the adjustment can be done under shelter rather than outside.   Another thing that struck me was how see-through the tarp is. Here is a picture of the tarp pitched.


Next I tried to attach the ZPacks Poncho to the tarp to make a bathtub groundsheet. Try as I might I failed to get a bathtub shape so I’ve emailed Zpacks for some advice. I’m clearly doing something wrong but I’ve no idea what.  On the plus side, the poncho makes a good groundsheet and I did manage to get a small wall at the front. 

One thing that I did learn was the poncho is large enough to seal the front up if the wind, or rain, changes direction. Simply slide the ground sheet towards the front of the tarp – there’s still loads of room to lie down and keep your stuff off the wet ground and on the ground sheet. There’s a handy mitten hook on elasticated cord where the pole sits at the top and there are some loops on the poncho which just reach. Clip the loops to the mitten hook and your protected from rain and wind. The elasticated mitten hook is at full stretch so I’ve added a couple of spectra guyline loops to take the tension off. So that’s good- there is nothing more depressing than repitching a tarp in the dark when the rain is falling.

Next stop is to try the setup for real in the wild.

Here’s some pictures of the tarp plus groundsheet. Note how transparent the tarp is.

About ReidIvinsMedia

After working for many years in Higher Education I've decided to drop out and join the real world. Here I blog about my interests which include education, politics, backpacking, poker, photography and real ale.
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Hiking, Review, Ultralight, Ultralite and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

