MLD Silnylon Pro Poncho Tarp: first impressions


I was impressed by my Mountain Laurel Designs silnylon Chaps. I’ve already posted a blog on those earlier. I was given the opportunity to get an unused, matching poncho at a bargain price and I couldn’t resist. Poncho tarps work well in the right circumstances-anyhow I like them!

The MLD poncho has a caternary cut that is supposed to make it shed wind more easily. It has several nifty features: a hood with a brim and back tensioning adjuster, gear hooks inside to hang bug nets or gear from and an innovative way of rolling up the hood when in tarp mode. The hood is along the central seam and can be rolled up and then buckled tight. No chance of a leak there.

I only got the ponch tarp yesterday but it pitches easily and there is quite a large space undercover. The MLD is 9 ft long which allows the rear to be pitched to the ground and still have plenty of room to lie under cover. I’m 5ft 10ins and I’ve got about 18 inches from the top of my head to the front of the tarp. There is good space both sides as well. I think I’ve found the poncho tarp to replace the trusty Golite poncho. You’ll find reviews of that in my blog too.

The pictures below show my first pitch and give an idea of the coverage. The sleeping mat is a full-sized one.

image

Front, high pitch. Large pad for scale.


image

Rear showing wind/rain block


image

View from the left-front

About ReidIvinsMedia

After working for many years in Higher Education I've decided to drop out and join, eventually, the self-employed. Here I blog about my interests which include education, politics, backpacking, poker, photography and real ale.
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Hiking, Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

