Vaude Bivi 1p – Part 1


It’s nearly December so that means cold, and usually damp, weather in the UK. Not my favourite time of the year to go backpacking. I don’t mind dry cold but I hate damp cold as it seeps into everything. It’s a miserable experience to be stuck in a tent then, especially as it gets dark about 4pm and sunrise is getting on for 8am.

To cheer myself up I’ve been preparing / repairing my gear in readiness for nicer weather. For a long time I’ve been pondering doing more bivvying and cycle-camping, both of which are best with minimal gear and small pack size. Even better when the shelter is low profile. 

On EBay I found a Vaude Bivi 1p for sale at a reasonable price (£80) so I purchased it and it’s en-route to me now. I thought it would be worth a punt as it ticks a lot of boxes but I’ll see when it arrives. Obviously I can’t review it yet but the boxes that it ticks are:

  1. Fairly light. The published weight is 910g but most users report it to be about 70g lighter.
  2. Very low profile (60cm maximum) to help with stealth camping.
  3. Easy and quick to pitch. Likewise, to pack away.
  4. Very stable in wind.
  5. Waterproof and breathable.
  6. Good ventilation.
  7. Small pack size.
  8. No long poles required so easy to stash away.
  9. Bugproof. Midges are attracted to me!
  10. Have room for me, a small rucksack and hiking shoes.

So, I’m excited and can’t wait for it to arrive. In the meantime here are some pictures of it from Vaude’s site. Dimensions are in centimetres.

   
 

About ReidIvinsMedia

After working for many years in Higher Education I've decided to drop out and join the real world. Here I blog about my interests which include education, politics, backpacking, poker, photography and real ale.
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Hiking, Review, Ultralight, Ultralite and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vaude Bivi 1p – Part 1

  1. Bobby says:

    With a tarp over the top, perfect for cooking you’ve cracked it.
    If you don’t get on with I’ll take off your hands and give you your money back.
    Bobby.

Leave a Reply

