Blood and guts


I played a gig last night. Nothing unusual in that. Nice place, nice people with two exceptions. The area where the band set up was not brilliant as we were at an angle to the audience which meant the acoustics were odd and I simply could not hear my monitor. It wasn’t a question of volume and I’ve never had the problem before. Be that as it may, I couldn’t hear myself which doesn’t help when trying to pitch your voice to sing lead. As for harmony vocals, forget it. So I just played my instrument. That was the first thing that pissed me off.

However the two exceptions really got my goat. An extremely drunk couple were there. As the night went on they (predictably) started arguing until it got to the point they were hitting each other. The woman drew blood first, the man retaliated and it escalated. The landlord threw them out. Unsettling but it happens so we carried on playing. A few minutes later both of them come back in, blood streaming from facial injuries. They were patched up and thrown out again. I found later from eye witnesses that the woman had punched the man again and, again, he had returned the favour. Anyhow, that put the mockers on the first set.

During the interval the atmosphere had returned to normal when in comes the woman again, this time dripping blood from a nose bleed and cut lip. Yes, she’d hit her man drawing yet more blood from his previously damaged face so he’d punched back. While the woman was being patched for the second time the man had got a taxi and had left – probably to A&E has he was quite badly beaten up by the woman.

So that was the end of a happy atmosphere at the gig. 

As I played the next set I pondered on why there are such people. Surely they must realise they cause themselves nothing but trouble and pain? Surely they realise they spoil things for other people? Surely they must know that their behaviour is neither normal or acceptable? And yet the locals told me that it’s a regular occurrence between them. In fact the locals apologised to us for the couple’s loutishness.  I can only conclude they are low intelligence life forms who should be sterilised to stop them breeding more of the same. Perhaps I’m being harsh but what’s the point of giving them social security to piss it up the wall, cause trouble, etc, etc? I told you they’d got my goat!

About ReidIvinsMedia

After working for many years in Higher Education I've decided to drop out and join, eventually, the self-employed. Here I blog about my interests which include education, politics, backpacking, poker, photography and real ale.
This entry was posted in Guitar, Music, Performance, Society and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

