The 20 litre Challenge Part Two


In between a short backpacking trip and a motorhoming holiday I’ve been playing around with my 20l challenge on an attempt to minimise volume.

I’ve swapped out the Montane Prism for a Patagonia Down Sweater which saves circa one hundred grams and gives a little extra volume. Likewise, the Serenity net inner has been replaced by a simple head net thus saving the best part of 190 grams. So, I’ve saved nearly three hundred grams and gained probably half a litre of extra volume.

I took the loaded Sea to Summit daypack out for a test stroll. Carrying one day’s worth of food plus kit is easily doable. The pack isn’t straining at the seams and is comfortable enough to carry for prolonged periods. However, add another day’s worth of food and the pack develops humps and bumps while the fabric is under considerable tension. I fear either the zip or the fabric will fail, either being catastrophic. Plus, it is very uncomfortable to carry.

I’m beginning to think that a 20l pack is just too small to carry enough kit inside to be viable for two days. If I use my Lowe Alpine Z20 pack it is easy because there are two outside pockets to carry the water, a small pocket for my GPS and a back elasticated stash pocket as well. However, using that defeats my aim of everything being inside the pack!

Current situation: the Sea to Summit Daypack is ideal for an overnight backpack but its really pushing the boundaries to carry enough for a two night trip and be able to deal with unexpected drops in temperature and rain while remaining fuelled and hydrated. There’s a difference between being ultralight and being stupid light. On the positive side nobody would expect a hiker carrying such a small pack to be wild camping.

The plotting continues!

About ReidIvinsMedia

After working for many years in Higher Education I've decided to drop out and join the real world. Here I blog about my interests which include education, politics, backpacking, poker, photography and real ale.
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Hiking, Ultralight, Ultralite and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

