A friend died: a few thoughts.


I was worried because a friend who was going to play at a gig with my band didn’t answer the door when I called round to give him a lift. After a while of waiting I had to go and play but it bugged me. The next morning, along with another friend and neighbour, I entered his house.

We found him dead. It had happened roughly 24 hours before I’d knocked on his door to collect him and it had been instant (or very quick at the worst). He’d made a sandwich, gone upstairs to do something and died there and then.

Although it is a shock I am glad that dying didn’t give him any protracted suffering. One minute alive, the next dead. But still, it is upsetting; apart from the loss of a good man, how can a friend who was fit, didn’t smoke, drink or eat to excess just die like that? Rationally, I know we all have a time to live and, when that time has ran its course, we die. But……but……. a talented musician and a kind, gentle man shouldn’t just go. Should they? But they do, we all do sooner or later.

The death of my friend has reinforced something to me that I already knew but, like most people, it is easy to forget in everyday life. Carpe diem, seize the day! Live your life to the full while you can because nobody knows when their time is up. The future is an undiscovered country which you might never get to explore so do what you want to do now, not tomorrow. Yes, you might fail spectacularly at something or succeed beyond your wildest dreams but in a century, or less, nobody will care. Only you, now, will care so do no harm and pursue your dreams now.

About ReidIvinsMedia

After working for many years in Higher Education I've decided to drop out and join the real world. Here I blog about my interests which include education, politics, backpacking, poker, photography and real ale.
This entry was posted in Morals, Philosophy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

