Things I learnt in Malaga


Last week I sojourned to Malaga to get some winter sun and warmth. I loathe the cold, grey, damp winter days that are the norm for British winter. Although I don’t suffer from SAD, I can understand why people get it. I’m a sun lover to my core.

Anyhow, travel broadens the mind so what follows is what I learnt during my trip.

1. A 7am flight means a 3:30 am start which is knackering. Never again will I fly the dawn patrol.
2. Malaga airport has excellent public transport links and the security is quick and efficient. However, it is totally non-smoking to the point that electronic cigarettes are banned too. A real pain in the arise for addicts such as I.
3. The city is compact and it is easy to walk around the winding tiny side streets. It is also a safe city with a low crime rate.
4. The architecture is fascinating. New build competes with Moorish and traditional Spanish architecture.
5. Man cannot live by tapas and cervesa alone. Well, this man can’t.
6. Picasso was born in Malaga so you can visit his house. There is also a very fine museum where you can see around 280 of his works.
7. Picasso was a fine traditional artist who could paint and draw very well indeed in the traditional manner.
8. Spanish teenagers / early twenties can go out for a drink and enjoy themselves without getting bladdered, vomiting in the streets or fighting at a kebab shop. Very unlike the average British town at a weekend. I live in a university town and during term time the town isn’t a nice place to be on a weekend night; its not violent but just full of drunken kids staggering, shouting, falling over, puking and the like.
9. The pubs and bars aren’t ghettos for certain age groups. People of all ages use them and manage to have a good time.
10. There is quite an industry in begging and busking in Malaga. Some, like the flamenco singer, are pretty good. Others, like a hapless accordion player I endured one night while having a beer, should be locked up for crimes against music.
11. Flamenco music is fascinating. I think it has a strong Moorish feel to it with strong, dramatic rhythms while the singing is often plaintive. The singing style is unusual with a lot of “throat” singing.
12. There are lots of things to see and do in Malaga; castles, forts, galleries, museums, beach, bullfighting, bars, music, shopping, sunbathing and more.
13. The train and bus networks are cheap and reliable so its easy to do a daytrip to Torremelinos or Fuengirolo. Or even, out to the mountains.

There you have it; 13 things I found out last week. Malaga is cheap, easy to get to and has lots to do. Well worth a visit.

About ReidIvinsMedia

After working for many years in Higher Education I've decided to drop out and join the real world. Here I blog about my interests which include education, politics, backpacking, poker, photography and real ale.
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

