Secret Leicestershire


I’m lucky that I live in North Leicestershire. In an earlier blog, I wrote about the beautiful scenery that can be found when walking the Ivanhoe Way.

The other day I went out for a bimble of ten miles or so around the Beacon (the highest point in Leicestershire), the Outwoods, Woodhouse Eaves and Nanpantan. The area I walked in is near the Leicestershire Round long-distance footpath and is quietly beautiful. It’s not spectacular like the Lake District or the Highlands which is why, I assume, not many backpackers can be found tramping the footpaths despite lots of opportunities for wild camping.

Anyhow I thought I’d share a few pictures of a quintessential English landscape which is now probably under threat thanks to our Government’s short-sighted changes to our planning laws. Enjoy the land while you can!

I thought the little heart plaque was touching and worth a mention too

20120402-164402.jpg

20120402-164426.jpg

20120402-164453.jpg

20120402-164444.jpg

20120402-164517.jpg

20120402-164501.jpg

About ReidIvinsMedia

After working for many years in Higher Education I've decided to drop out and join the real world. Here I blog about my interests which include education, politics, backpacking, poker, photography and real ale.
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Hiking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

