A poker epiphany


I was playing poker recently and, as usual with a good opening hand, had a bad beat to a 10,2.

Then the epiphany struck! I’ve always played poker by calculating odds and looking at “tells”, etc. I always know what I’m going to do if checked, raised or put all-in, what I’m going to do if I hit the flop, turn or river. In short, I’m a tight aggressive player or TAG for short. Most other players I’ve met are either TAGs or SAGs (Super Aggressive) mixed in with a smaller number of mice (Super Tight) or calling stations (play anything, play raises in hope) plus the “any two cards will do” merchants. I do believe a TAG strategy will win out in the long-term.

Then I realised something. All poker players play hands on a whim. Even TAGs like me get bored of having a bad opening hand over and over again in a game and play a speculative hand(s). Or we might want to mix things up a bit. I thought I’d hit on a new discovery but research threw up a poker player by the name of Caro who had the same epiphany a long time before me!

What comes out of this is that no matter how tight or loose your poker strategy is, the art of reading “tells” is vital in playing people in hands on a whim. So here are some of Mr Caro’s tells http://www.online-poker-rules.net/Caro/

About ReidIvinsMedia

After working for many years in Higher Education I've decided to drop out and join the real world. Here I blog about my interests which include education, politics, backpacking, poker, photography and real ale.
This entry was posted in Poker and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

