Short legs, knee cartlilage and keeping fit


A few years ago, I injured my knee whilst swimming. In the end I had to have my femoral cartilage excised. The damage done to the joint was considerable and I’ve never got back to full flexibility.

Imagine my horror when I found out yesterday I’d damaged an anterior cartilage on the same knee. Mercifully, it looks like surgery won’t be needed this time. Just hours of mind-numbingly boring, and painful, physiotherapy. However, I do need to grow longer legs as I did it stepping over a particularly high stile on a footpath. Why do councils replace existing stiles with ones that need mountaineering skills? Having short legs (29.5ins inside leg) makes uber stiles bloody annoying!

I’ve come to the conclusion that keeping fit makes you ill. Swimming did for my femoral cartilage, walking has  caused this injury and my finger still isn’t healed from my misadventure on Kinder Scout. The old Queen Mother was right: don’t work, don’t exercise, smoke and drink, always eat rich foods and you live to be 102.

About ReidIvinsMedia

After working for many years in Higher Education I've decided to drop out and join, eventually, the self-employed. Here I blog about my interests which include education, politics, backpacking, poker, photography and real ale.
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Hiking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

