Adoption: Rescue Cat Milly


Yesterday I adopted Milly, a seven year old cat. Her owner was an elderly lady who was going into hospital and not expected to come out alive. As Milly is classed as old, she would have been put down. I wanted a cat, the old lady can die in the knowledge that Milly will be well looked after and, of course, the cat is alive. Win, win as they say.

I think she is the largest cat I’ve ever seen. Her head is 5 inches across and her body (chest to backside) is 18 inches. On top of that she is overweight, probably because the old lady over-fed her. So. I’ll give her a few days to settle down then its off to the vets to make sure her surplus poundage is not caused by a dodgy thyroid and then it is diet time.

After a day she seems relaxed in my company but still a tad wary. Not surprising. She is a sweet-natured cat and I think she’ll thrive. Last night, she jumped up onto my bed and slept lying by my side. Very touching although her snores are quite loud too.

Here’s a pic

Milly adopted 21/11/11

Milly adopted 21/11/11

About ReidIvinsMedia

After working for many years in Higher Education I've decided to drop out and join the real world. Here I blog about my interests which include education, politics, backpacking, poker, photography and real ale.
This entry was posted in cats, Pets and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adoption: Rescue Cat Milly

  1. Fluffy Tufts says:

    WOW! She is on BIG kitty! 🙂

Leave a Reply

