Two months on


Saturday November 12th  2011 was the date that marked the passage of two months since my cat Button died. She lived a little longer than her sister, Bumble, who had died the month earlier. As I blogged at the time, there was a big hole in the house.

Since then, I’ve been adopted by a neighbour’s cat who has moved in. Isha was a rescue cat, taken in by my neighbours but never really loved. I suspect Isha was something the kids wanted as a whim. I may be wrong, I may be right but Isha was left pretty much to herself. She was looked after, well fed and watered but I get the impression she was not especially wanted anymore. I’d guess she is about three years or so in age and I think its pretty unlucky for a cat to be on her second home in that time. Its a real shame because she is a loving, pretty cat.

Anyhow, she moved in within a week or two of my cats dying. In between then and now, I’ve watched her gain confidence, learn to play,  how to open doors, find warm places to sleep, have “mad half hours” where she chases her tail,  and watched her learn to trust me. I’ve also learnt things about her: she is a fiesty bugger, can stand up for herself, hates being alone and gets twitchy when night falls.

I’ve also learnt some other things. Firstly, she isn’t a direct replacement for Bumble or Button; nor my earlier cats (Floss, Ginger and Fluff) who all lived to great ages. Nor should she be. She is who she is; no more and no less. Secondly, I really am a cat person. Thirdly, it is a wonderful thing to experience a bond unexpectedly growing between yourself and a different species.

She is not my cat, I don’t own her but I would be very sad if she decided to move on- the big hole in the house is not quite as big now.

About ReidIvinsMedia

After working for many years in Higher Education I've decided to drop out and join the real world. Here I blog about my interests which include education, politics, backpacking, poker, photography and real ale.
This entry was posted in cats, Pets, Philosophy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

