Hilarious…or sad?


I have no idea if the video clip in the link at the end of this post is a spoof or not. Sadly I suspect it is not.

When I was teaching, I frequently came across many students in a cohort who really struggled with basic mathematical concepts like arithmetic, re-arranging formulae,  algebra in general,  trigonometric  functions and identities, logarithms and so on. All topics I had learnt in school by the age of 16. However, the modern GCSE doesn’t seem to cover these topics. Or, if it does, the subject is badly taught across the UK. I remember saying as much to one student who said “Ah, but we live in different times now so we don’t need maths”. Others told me it was “too hard” or “boring”.

I find the lack of basic mathematical skill in students alarming. Yes, we live in an age where we are all allegedly creative digital beings but maths is important. We need it to balance budgets, calculate loans, estimate quantities of wallpaper and a myriad other mundane uses. If you are a creative person you need it to calculate the number of frames needed to make a time-lapse film, find out file sizes, memory sizes needed, etc. And then, we need maths to help design machines, buildings, cars and so on ad infinitum.

Here is the link. Play it, laugh and then cry. It is hosted on a free service so I would not recommend clicking on other links from it but the vid is safe for work etc.

http://videobam.com/fyxiv

About ReidIvinsMedia

After working for many years in Higher Education I've decided to drop out and join, eventually, the self-employed. Here I blog about my interests which include education, politics, backpacking, poker, photography and real ale.
This entry was posted in Education, Social Media, Society and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hilarious…or sad?

  1. Julian Luttrell says:

    I’m sure the video is good but I don’t want to touch a single pixel or button on that page.

Leave a Reply

