Life after wage slavery – first thoughts


I’ve been work-free for eighteen days now and I’ve now had six days to enjoy it. The first twelve were sent looking after my ailing cat. Anyhow, I’ve noticed three things.

The first is quite odd. No more having to get up, no more having to do anything unless I want to. I’ve always loathed getting up early in the morning but now I’m waking up at 7:30 raring to go!

Secondly, people who have retired will tell you that they are always busy. Going on the last six days, they are right! I’ve never been so busy. In the last week I have resurrected my push bike and have completed two bike rides, selected and pre-enrolled on two college courses, planned a backpacking trip for next week, rehearsed with my Nottingham band, been working on original music with the writer, read a book, watched a live football match, played petanque, did a ten-mile hike, re-wrote my CV, completed the second design iteration of my website, badgered an editor about doing some free-lance work and had a business meeting. Plus all the normal stuff like shopping, haircuts, etc. Phew!

Thirdly, I’ve realised I have absolutely no work-derived status any more. As someone who has never, ever defined themselves by their work it is a surprise to be just plain old me. Obvious of course but I’d never considered it for an instant.  I bet people who are really committed to their work, and /or define themselves by it, must feel absolutely lost when they pack in work for whatever reason.

Do I regret my loss of status, being busy or waking up early? Not at all! I’m loving it.

About ReidIvinsMedia

After working for many years in Higher Education I've decided to drop out and join the real world. Here I blog about my interests which include education, politics, backpacking, poker, photography and real ale.
This entry was posted in Music, Philosophy, Solo, Uncategorized, Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

