Google+ Second set of observations


I’ve been using Google+ for a few weeks now. I can’t say I’m impressed.

I do like the Circles idea to manage your friends in theory but, in practice, it doesn’t seem to be useful. This could be because Google+ isn’t a very social bit of social media. For starters, it is quiet in there……too quiet. For a piece of social media it is a real problem if the users cannot be social. Maybe it might pick up as more users sign up to it. However, it is harder to find people at the best of times on G+ once you’ve been through your email address book compared to Facebook.

I don’t find it good for collaborative working either. Yes, you can share docs via Google Docs but revision tracking or comments are not easy to do; Google wave was much better at this and it had a lot of other useful features too which are missing from G+.

I used to use Facebook as a teaching tool where students could join a private group, post images and give a critique of  their, and other students’, work. I would think you might be able to use the Circles Feature to do this. But Facebook already can do it, most students are on FB so I think G+ doesn’t score very highly as an educational tool either.

I’ll stick with it for a bit longer but, to be honest, I prefer the old Google Wave as a collaboration tool. For social media, G+ has a long way to go to beat Twitter and Facebook. As an educational tool, yes it might work if consumers use G+ in the first place

About ReidIvinsMedia

After working for many years in Higher Education I've decided to drop out and join the real world. Here I blog about my interests which include education, politics, backpacking, poker, photography and real ale.
This entry was posted in Google+, Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

