Leatherman Micra Review


This is the most useful small multitool on the market. Well, I think it is!

It is very light and compact thus ideal for backpacking and ultralight (aka ultralite) hiking as well as normal day-to-day use. Size is approx 2.5 inches folded and just over 3.5″ when the scissors are being used. Build quality is superb – I have one which is over 5 yrs old and still going strong-looks like when I first bought it and the tools have remained sharp. I thought I’d lost it hence I purchased a new one. Life being what it is I found it immediately after I ordered a replacement via Amazon!

The carcass acts as a handy 5″ ruler, the scissors are superbly sharp as is the knife blade. The way that that carcass folds means that the knife cannot fold back on your fingers and cut you. The Phillips screwdriver and the other screwdrivers work well. Obviously they are not heavy duty tools but perfectly fine for things like changing plugs, fixing spectacles etc.  The largest screwdriver can also be used as a mini chisel/gouger. The nailfile does its job well as do the tweezers. Finally, the bottle opener works exactly as it should. The lanyard ring allows you to fix it to a keyring but I don’t bother as I’m always changing my keys around.

I use mine almost every day to open packages, cut sellotape, fix things about the house, as a manicure set as well as when I’m hiking when I’ve used it to repair tents, guylines, sleeping mats, to cut cord and many other things. I’ve even used my Micra to put up a curtain rail!

I think the Micra is indispensable and I thoroughly recommend it.

About ReidIvinsMedia

After working for many years in Higher Education I've decided to drop out and join, eventually, the self-employed. Here I blog about my interests which include education, politics, backpacking, poker, photography and real ale.
This entry was posted in Backpacking, Hiking, Review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

